1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

which Thunderbird

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by johnny boy, May 11, 2010.

1. johnny boy

johnny boy

Feb 14, 2010
    Brighton uk
    Hi Guys

I have been playing blues for several years now and looking to dip my toe into progressive rock/ punk..so would really like some advice on which bass will do the job. At the moment I`m torn between the Epiphone Thunderbird 1V or the Pro 1V...as well as the Warwick Rockbass.....all feel and sound great, but are there any others which im missing, budget at £350 or $520.

2. i hate username

i hate username

Jan 9, 2006
    I have both an epiphone thunderbird and a rockbass fortress and i cannot reccomend the rockbass enough over the thunderbird.

That said what model rockbass is it. I know not all of them are amazing.

My experience with the thunderbird was fraught with problems. The bridge was a disaster(it was a old 3-point bridge not the bent metal one), the neck was clunky and the output was very low compared to other passive basses ive had and the neck dive broke my heart. Playing it really felt like a battle. The thing is it was my first bass and i was too poor at the time to get anything better.

My second bass was a rockbass fortress and i cannot say enough how big an improvement it was. No neck dive, active eq(if your in to that) sounded miles better as well. not the best bass by any stretch but moving from the Thunderbird to that was definitely an improvement. If you are going for a rockbass though, keep in mind that their are many import basses that are up to similar or better standards for the same price(ibanez,cort etc.)

I know that their are people who love thunderbirds and i was one of them...before i bought one. Their a hard thing to live with if you plan to use it as your main bass.

3. johnny boy

johnny boy

Feb 14, 2010
    Brighton uk