1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Which to buy? Dilemna!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Sijjvra, Mar 31, 2009.

1. Sijjvra

Sijjvra

Mar 31, 2009
    So I've been playing bass for about 12 years all together. I put it down for about 6 years since I had to sell all my equipment (one of those rough financial situations :( ) and in the last year, I've just been getting back into it.

Playing in a band - death n' roll, groove metal, black n' roll, and I like a rather punchy tone as opposed to more muted, "warm" tones. I really like a bright growl rather to smooth and mellow.

Other than my first bass - a really awful Lotus that I bought without really knowing what to look for other than " hey, a cheap bass! And so-and-so wants me to play in his band so I'll learn bass!" I've always played Ibanez. For a few reasons: I like their tone. I had an SR405 and 406 before I sold them, and just liked the way they sounded. I also have really REALLY small hands (seriously, small.) - being female and coming from a small-in-stature family, a slim neck really helps me out a lot, and Ibanez has the slimmer necks.

I've been using, since I picked playing back up, a rather battered (my fault, I sorta abused this bass since I knew I'd be replacing it soon - though it still sounds alright! ) Ibanez SR-300, old model... probably about 8 years old ... and it's time to upgrade to the five string again for the low end that heavier music just sounds so good with.

So now I've got a dilemna. I'm thinking of trying a Traben Array 5-string, as I've -heard- pretty good things about them and some notable musicians do use them. However, I'm not going to have much chance to try to play on one since... heh, there are no music stores where I'm at that carry anything except :p Fender (just not a Fender fan, sorry).