Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Which to keep Stingray or MIA Jazz

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Johnny Morales, Mar 10, 2006.

1. Johnny Morales

Johnny Morales

Mar 9, 2006
    I'm a relatively new bassist (have been a guitarist for many years) - just getting into the bass. I recently picked up a new American Jazz and subsequently got a really good deal on a mint Stingray 4. (good enough deal that I could easily turn around and sell it for a profit on e-bay). Anyway, I can't afford to keep them both. Wanted suggestions on which one is an overall better bass for classic rock, jazz, and a bit of funk/slapping.

I love the tone and solid feel of the Stingray - but the tone is not appropriate for all styles. And I love the neck on the Fender Jazz and the variety of tones I can get, but it doesn't cut through like the Stingray. I'll probably regret selling either, but which one will be the better bass to keep for a one bass setup?

2. Sippy

Sippy

Aug 1, 2005
    Stuart,Florida
    You are mostly likely going to get a bunch of answers but they will average out to be 50/50. Personally. I would get rid of the MIA. NOTHING beats the tone of a Stingray. And a stingray is appropriate for damn near any genre you throw at it.

3. I'd personally keep the Jazz, but simply because I like the tone better. The quality of each instrument will be equally high so you couldn't necessarily go wrong on that end. You should keep whatever you think sounds best. If you grow tired of it, sell it and get the other.

4. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

They both have their pros and cons, you should keep both. If you had to sell one, sell the SR, I can't really imagine that sound being comparable to a Jazz sound for jazz. It's really up to what sound you want.

5. steve4765630

steve4765630

Feb 27, 2006