1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Who else gave up practicing sitting down?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Tupac, Mar 22, 2013.

1. Tupac

Tupac

May 5, 2011
    Honestly, this is one of the best things I've done. My last bass had awful neck dive, so I practiced sitting down 24/7. When I got my new bass, I noticed how comfortable it felt standing up, everything just fell into place. Before I thought that playing while standing was extremely awkward, and my playing was far worse that way. Now it's reversed. I find that sitting down is the one that create odd angles. I play with my bass slung low, so there's no compromises to be made here. I've been doing it for 3 months now and I've long transferred my skills.

2. JoeWPgh

JoeWPgh

Dec 21, 2012
    I live by the adage: Never stand when you can sit, and never sit when you can lay down!!! But seriously? I know the low slung bass looks like it has great attitude, but it's not very nice to your wrist or tendons.

3. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    I am constantly learning new songs for fill-in gigs. So when I do practice, I do it sitting down in front of the computer to youtube songs.

However, I got a tip years ago that served me well. Get a wide leather adjustable strap. Set it to the same place your bass sits when you are sitting down. That way, your bass is the same sitting or standing. And the wide leather strap doesn't let the bass slide so neck dive is no longer an issue even if the bass is head heavy.

4. I've never been comfortable sitting with my bass, any of them. Doing so puts my right wrist into an uncomfortable curl. Standing for the win, for me.

5. petrus61

petrus61 Supporting Member