Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Who else uses roundwounds on their fretless?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Petary791, Jan 23, 2006.

1. Petary791

Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    I know I do. It's on a rosewood fretboard, so it's already diggin in a bit (just defretted it about 2 days ago,) but I think it sounds much better. So how many of you guys, and pros for that matter, use roundwounds?

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I always think i do... then i got TI Flats..and..yea..flats are better for me.

3. Petary791

Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    Have you lost a lot of brightness?

4. I used to swear by rounds, til I got a fretless Stambaugh from TBer snyderz:hyper: - the bass is fully passive & sounds AWESOME w/flats. It's got a sort of 'mwah' among the many available tones; not the typical Pedulla thing, but very nice. On my hopefully-less-than-2 weeks-away 7, I'm goin' round, though. I'm not stuck in either camp- it's good to have lots of colors on your tonal pallette.:)

5. danomite64

danomite64

Nov 16, 2004
    Tampa, Florida
    I use roto nickel rounds on my fretless, and love it!

6. dougjwray

dougjwray

Jul 20, 2005
    The best sound I ever got on a fretless was with Rotosound Swing Bass (stainless steel) roundwounds on an uncoated rosewood fingerboard. Of course, the strings carved ruts pretty quickly, and I couldn't afford to simply order a new neck every few months (what Pino Palladino used to do with his Music Man, according to an interview I remember), so I had the neck epoxied and switched to GHS Brite Flats (ground rounds). Fine sound, but just not the same.

7. kjones

kjones Supporting Member

Dec 4, 2004
    Maryland