1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Who here wishes the standard fender has more than 20frets?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BrandonBass, Nov 22, 2010.

1. BrandonBass

BrandonBass

May 29, 2006
    Say maybe 21...or 24. I know Im a bassist and Im spendin most of my time grooving with the 1st 7 frets, but sometimes its annoying when U wanna play a solo piece and you just need the extra frets to push you to the climax.

Plus, I find that with 24fret basses, the frets at the end are usually closer to each other, make it easier for fast scale runs....ideas?

2. Fender used to have a 24 fret jazz.

3. BrandonBass

BrandonBass

May 29, 2006
    I kknow, hence I said the 'Standard fender model'

4. allexcosta

allexcosta

Apr 7, 2004
    It would sound very different from the classic "Fender sound".

5. Indiana Mike

Indiana Mike Supporting Member

Nov 18, 2005
    Evansville
    who goes past the fifth fret anyways

:bag:

6. I do wish they at least had 21 frets. I hate getting in the upper register on a 20 fretter and having to bend up to an E. My Peavey Zodiac has 21 frets and it amazes me how happy that 21st fret makes me, lol.

7. BrandonBass

BrandonBass

May 29, 2006
    like... mark hoppus?

8. Doesn't matter to me, I almost never go up that far as a matter of course.

9. truckin88

truckin88

Oct 18, 2001
    Newburgh, NY
    89-93 fender jazz....the boner bass 22 frets...was the standard jazz.

10. M0ses

M0ses

Sep 11, 2009
    Los Angeles
    If Fender doesn't make what you want, buy something else. Because someone else does make that.

11. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    right.