1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Who is in a bass and drums only band?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Lichtaffen, Apr 3, 2015.

1. Lichtaffen

Lichtaffen

Sep 29, 2008
    Rhode Island
    The drummer that I've been working with for the past 6 months is a great guy and we have awesome chemistry, both as friends and as musicians. We were hoping to jam for a while, write some grooves and then find other players, but now we both feel like adding anyone else will ruin our chemistry. We've been considering doing the bass and drums thing but we're both afraid the music will be too simplistic and not keep an audience's attention after the initial novelty has worn off. Also, neither of us can sing. We've been throwing around the idea of triggering samples, making loops on the fly, etc. and I've also been using effects to vary the sound of my bass.

The question to you is: is anyone in this type of band and what do you do to keep it interesting? Do you gig or is it just a jam thing?

2. Basshappi

Basshappi

Feb 12, 2007
    Tucson,AZ
    I am just now starting one and we have the intention to write material for performing on stage. But since we are just now getting started, I can't offer any advice from my own experience yet.
    The closest I to this in the past is that I used to jam with my nextdoor neighbor who was a drummer and there were times when it was pure magic. But that situation was just free form jamming and nothing more.

There are a fair number of bass solo artists and bass & drum combos making music and giving live performances.
    One such band "Royal Blood" is actually doing very well and is making a name for themselves in the mainstream.

"Clatter" was a bass & drums duo that was very good and had some success over a number of years.
    "Death From Above '79" is another.
    "OM" is a bass & drum band