Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Who is playing the bass on Jimmi Hendrix's VOODOO CHILD? And your favorite bassline?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by de la mocha, Oct 4, 2005.

1. de la mocha

de la mocha

Aug 20, 2005
    NEW JERSEY
    I can't stop listening to this song! I haven't heard this song since I started playing bass! I don't have the album credits that can tell me who is playing!

This is my theme song to my life!!!! Of course Jimmi absolutely murders this song with his insane playing, but the bass player is keeping up with him!

Also, what is your favorite bass line, from what song?

2. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis
    Aside from the Band of Gypsies stuff, Jimi did most of the studio bass on Axis and Electric Ladyland (right handed bass flipped upside down without moving the strings - yikes he was good). Not sure who did what on Experienced (where they had to track live to save time).

3. I though it was Billy Cox, I didn't know Jimi did the studio stuff. I konw on the live Woodstock version, Cox plays it great and keeps up with Jimi for 13 mind-melting minutes. Trust me, anyone who doesn't have the Woodstock album, GET IT!!

4. Wasn't Voodoo Chile actually Jack Casady?

5. Futurebass

Futurebass

Jun 22, 2005
    Think so, yes.

6. Vysous

Vysous

Mar 29, 2005
    I have just looked into Electric Ladyland booklet...
    It seems to be Noel Redding...
    Noel says in booklet that they recorded that "Voodoo Thing" whole day, playing it again and again.... Jack Cassady played on Voodoo CHILE, not on Voodoo CHILD (slight return)... Voodoo Chile is looong blues jam also with Steve Winwood on organ (it's also recorded on Electric Ladyland)... But I think that original version of Voodoo Child's bassline is recorded by Noel Redding...

7. jerry

jerry Doesn't know BDO Gold Supporting Member

Dec 13, 1999
    Hawaii