1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Who makes a great 7 string?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by charley, Apr 10, 2006.

1. charley

charley

Apr 8, 2006
    SF Bay Area
    I am thinking about taking up the bass, and am looking for a bass and rig. I've been playing guitar for many years, but recently have wanted to explore the low end. I am primarily interested in 7 string basses. I tried a Sukop 7 string and LOVED it the other day, but I'm still wondering what my other options are. I'm looking for a high end 7 string. I also haven't ruled out a 6 string, and have been looking at MTD Americans. Any suggestions?

2. Ritter
    Bee Basses
    JP Basses
    Conklin
    Jerzy Drozd
    Benavente

etc.

3. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Roscoe

4. Carey Nordstrand builds an incredible 7 string. Very light and effortless to maneuver around. The tone is insane too.

Cliff Bordwell also builds 7 strings.

5. sanray

sanray

Nov 8, 2005
    I myself would go with JP, check out his site, amazing stuff.

6. pointbass

pointbass Jersey to Georgia Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Nov 4, 2004
    Acworth, GA
    Endorsing Artist: FBB Bass Works
    If you wait long enough you'll end up with a list of every builder that makes a 7 string as we all offer up our favorite basses, usually the ones that we're playing ...... ;) I'll add my vote for FBB :D