Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Who makes their own cables?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by SuperDuck, Dec 7, 2002.

1. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Today in my electronics class we were wiring circuit boards, and working with soldering irons. While we were on the topic, I asked my teacher if making my own cables would be hard, and his response was something along the lines of "hell no". I looked inside a cable, and sure enough, a monkey could solder that.

I found some Switchcraft phone plugs at DigiKey, but I am at a loss as to what cable to buy. Radio Shack has some "Instrumentation cable" that looks like it's shielded (at least from the cheap picture on their site), but at the price they are selling it for, it almost seems TOO cheap, you know? Then again, maybe I'm just new at this and don't realize that $.14/foot is normal. Does anyone who makes their own cables have a good source for the cable? Or a better one for the plugs?
    Thanks in advance.

2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    I make all of my own balanced cables, and a few instrument cables. You're right. It is easy. Caution, though; NEVER use Radio Shack components or cable. You defeat the purpose of making your own cables: QUALITY. The Switchcraft plugs are fine, Neutrik are better. Use either Canare or Belden audio cable (do a Google search). Just get the right number of conductors and a braided shield.