1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Who owns a Normandy archtop bass and how do you like it?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by blizward, Feb 27, 2016.

1. blizward

blizward

Feb 21, 2013
    Rennes - France
    The title says it all. I've been playing this bass for 5 years mainly to play à la Mark Sandman. It's a bass that feels and sounds quite special.
    What's your opinion?

2. dukeplaysbass

dukeplaysbass Supporting Member

I like mine, but I don't find it gives me a Sandman vibe. Are you playing it 2-string, with the slide?

3. blizward

blizward

Feb 21, 2013
    Rennes - France
    Thanks for your answer. I've set up the bass fairly high with flatwound strings and I tune it EADA and play with a slide. I wanted to get a feel that was closer to a double bass with a higher action and flats.
    That's my take on Sandman's sound but I didn't try to match his bass/amp configuration. He used a fretless bass with roundwounds for starters, my bass is still fretted, hence the higher action.
    Fact is, I don't use my bass in a traditionnal fashion and I wanted to know how other people enjoyed the Normandy.
    What king of music do you play?

4. dukeplaysbass

I actually play in a Morphine tribute band, as one of the projects I have going. My other projects are blues/rock stuff, and a couple of other tribute acts here and there, too.
    I haven't used the Normandy for a while, but did in a rock project a couple of years back.
    For the Morphine tribute I use an Epi Jack Casady, stripped down to two strings, actions jacked way up and played with rounds and a brass slide. It's pretty close. You can check us out here: - Video

NightCat and castelletti like this.
  5. blizward

blizward

Feb 21, 2013
    Rennes - France