Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Who owns and plays an Hofner?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by barroso, Apr 11, 2002.

1. barroso

barroso

Aug 16, 2000
    Italia
    Since i moved to Florence i started playing and listening a lot to Beatles again. i also discovered a wonderful little guitar shop that has a wonderful selection of "unusual" instruments. they have a hofner bass in stock, the owner of the shop owns 4 of them. i tried 2 of these basses and felt completely in love. they are pricey, dull sounding. but i like them a lot. all with flat strings, they have a sound that i really enjoy. the medium scale is for me unusual but comfortable too. they are made with high quality woods, but with a strange vibe. they are not comparable in quality to new basses, but they seem to be handmade due to humann imperfections. i want to know if other guys here like Hofner and if there is someone that uses Hofner as main bass. I'd like to know if there are famous players who uses Hofner too. I remember pics of the former Phish bass player Mike Gordon recording with Gov'T Mule and holding Hofner.

2. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    I am very close friends with a collector/player who has an early 60s Hofner. It is worth a mint and is certainly a worthy part of the collection, but as a main playing bass, I wouldn't give him $50 for it.

As far as tone, the bass is all mid. The short scale and hollow body rob any real bass it might have.

It also has almost no sustain.

IMO, McCartney's thumpy, riding style comes from playing one of these things.

He plays with a pick, and that gives it a little bit of attack. With fingers, it has hardy any at all.

I have never heard one strung with rounds. It seems almost bordering on sacrilege to suggest it.

It really depends on your style and interest.