Who plays a 4x10 - and why?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Pilgrim, Jul 7, 2008.

1. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member

I've been playing a single 15" speaker for a traditional sound on surf and classic rock. However, I got tired of having very poor note definition. Too much of the time the bass sounded like 'woof, woof, woof" in the background...and I couldn't really tell the bass notes apart.

So last weekend I bought a G-K 4x10. Better note definition, and still a strong low end with plenty of punch. (And I can use both the 4x10 and my single 15 together if I need to.)

Who else likes this style of cab - and why?

2. I do - because they are twice as cool as a 210! :D

3. I've been using a single 410 for many years. I find it's the best 'bang for the size' cab ever. And, with the wonderful lightweight versions out now, my 410 weighs less than the 210's or 115's I've used in the past.

I've always been impressed with the tone of all the guys I've heard in clubs with those Goliaths and Eden 410XLT's through the years... punchy, loud, even, and they seem to slot into a mix very nicely for the type of music I enjoy the most (pop/jazz/funk).

Enjoy that cab!

4. Rune Bivrin

Rune Bivrin Supporting Member

Oct 2, 2006
    Huddinge, Sweden
    Sometimes I play a 2x4. It cuts through wonderfully in crowds :D

5. OptimusPrime

OptimusPrime

Mar 30, 2008
    Florida
    I just got an Ampeg 410 last week. It's great.

6. Mark Joe

Mark Joe

Apr 8, 2008
    Frederick MD
    I have an Ampeg 4x10 HE, and it just doesn't seem to have the brightness that I am looking for. It helps when I get it up
    off the floor and stack it on another cab; the mid-to-treble range seems less 'lost' then. Still, 10's are much more present than 15's. I recommend any cabinet with 10's for a general purpose cab. Thanks.

7. I usually combine a 212 with a 410, or a 212 with a 210 in smaller venues.