Who plays the tuba?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Nick Gann, Apr 29, 2002.

1. I play the tuba as well as bass.

13 vote(s)
  2. I don't play the tuba.

21 vote(s)
  3. I used to play the tuba but never went anywhere with it.

4 vote(s)
  4. What's a tuba? Does it have anything to do with carrots?

7 vote(s)
  1. Nick Gann

Nick Gann Talkbass' Tubist in Residence

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    I've been playing the tuba for a few years now, and bass for about a year. I find that playing one makes playing the other a lot easier. I know theory from the tuba and conventional band classes. That helps me compose songs for my band.

Does anyone else out there play the tuba? Feel the way I do?

I want to be a professional tuba player later in life. Tuba is my career plan and my passion, and bass is just a passion (maybe a side job):D I am really good at tuba (or so I'm told) and getting good at bass. I hope they can both offer me a future.
  2. i don't play it, but i'm friends with a "Jazz Tuba" player :D
  3. Mellem

Feb 1, 2002
    Greenville, MI
    I play the Baritone, does that count? I play treble clef though, so I still had to learn bass clef.
  4. Nick Gann

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    Baritone- eh,, lets call it the tenor tuba. Different name. Same instrument. I guess it works :D

Treble clef? What the h3!! kinda low brass player are you?;)
  5. Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    I played Tuba for about a year. Wasn't terrible, but I was forced onto it by a band teacher.
  6. PolkaHero

Jan 5, 2002
    Yeah, dude! I've been playing tuba for about 14 years and bass guitar for 13 years. I actually double on tuba and bass in one of the bands I'm in. I also play strictly tuba in 2 other bands(as well as strictly bass in 2 other bands). I'm in too many bands!

After years of borrowing instruments from schools I finally bought a Sanders Imperial BBb a couple years ago. What kind of instrument do you play?