Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Who uses Rabbath???

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by PepeRomero, Jul 6, 2005.

1. PepeRomero

PepeRomero

Jul 5, 2005
    Do you know any gods actually using (or having studied with) the Rabbath method?

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Lynn Seaton, for one.

3. Bsimner

Bsimner

May 7, 2004
    Actually, I studied a bit with Rabbath,, and I play early music in Europe...

His thing is more about openenss and freeing than any one crab thing....

4. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    Paul Ellison, the former principal bassist of the Houston Symphony and current Professor of double bass at Rice.

5. I don't set my bass up according to the Rabbath method, but I do use book 3 for my scale studies and have for some time. There are a lot of great bass players/teachers who have studied his technique at one time or another. Hal Robinson, principle of Philly comes to mind.

6. PepeRomero

PepeRomero

Jul 5, 2005
    I live in Bogotá, Colombia (South America, for any doubts). Here there are 2 or 3 conservatories, plus 6+ fine level music schools where classical double bass is taught. Various methods are taught here, mainly Simmandl, but also a bit of Billè; there's also a Russian one which I really don't know (talking to a bassist who plays at one of the local classical orchestras, and who was taught by a great Russian bassist named Zanko, I got the impression that this Russian method is something like the Italian one where the ring finger is used).