Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

who was that guy...

Discussion in 'Recordings [DB]' started by flint, Aug 30, 2004.

1. flint

flint

Aug 24, 2004
    GA
    Howdy all,

I'm a newbie here; and to the DB for that matter, having recently acquired both a DB (and a teacher) to help me transition from the 98 lb. t-bone playing weakling into a bass rumbling Charles Atlas.

But for now all I need is an itch scratched-I have an artist that I hope someone here can help me identify.

The clues that I have are scarce, and I wish I could give more but here goes- Several months ago our NPR station had a highlight of a URB player on one of it's jazz shows (either "jass beyond", or "the jazz spot"-syndicated shows both). Now what made this player stand out was his vocal accompaniment to his URB. Now I know lots of jazz URB players probably sing, but this guy was almost singing "through" his bass, and it was difficult to tell where his voice left off and the bass picked up. It was wonderful.

now I may have been just a little out of it that night. It was late after all, and that is probably the reason that I dont remember more; but can anyone finish the sentence " it might be...." ?

thanks

chortle_nut

2. If you're talking about singing a unison line while playing with the bow, the two "could-be" guys are Slam Stewart and Major Holley.

If you're talking singing and scatting while accompanying themselves on bass, that could be either Jay Leonhart or Jim Ferguson.

3. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    Maybe also Red Mitchell. But was it just a show where they played this guys music and somebody else talked about him? Or did they actually have interviews etc. with the actual player?