Who were the first nu/modern metal bands?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by peteroberts, Feb 18, 2005.

1. There's a lot of what they used to call nu-metal out there now; Mudvayne, Slipknot, etc. Who were the first?

First one I can remember hearing is Korn - 1st record in 1994. Was anyone doing it before them?

I didn't really keep up between the hair metal bands of the 80's and mid 90's when Korn starting gaining popularity.
  2. I'm by no means an expert, but I thought the Deftones had actually started before Korn (not sure about album release dates....). I'd also like to know who may have been before these bands, just out of curiousity.

3. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

That's an interesting question. I would have said Korn myself.
    But on further reflection of the time, I recall thinking the first time I heard Rage Against the Machine...wow--that is a really new and exciting sound! There was another band about that time, too, Machine Head, that had some of the elements. Even Prong did. We even had a band in South Florida called Collapsing Lungs (later just Lungs) that had some elements of nu-metal.

The reason I am familiar with these bands is that the band I was in at the time was using elements from Machine Head, Rage, Prong, Biohazard, Cypress Hill, Fear Factory, Deftones and Beastie Boys to come up with our own sound.

I believe you could argue that any or all of those bands contributed at least some traits of style that eventually became what Korn and Limp Bizkit matured into the nu-metal "genre." But if I had to name the ONE, it would be Korn. Still Rage Against the Machine, Biohazard and Cypress Hill were certainly immediate ancestors.

Oh, one more important "ancestor" would be my beloved Faith No More. They did incorporate rap-like elements into their music even before Korn existed.