1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Who's handy with tools & home electrical?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Matthew Bryson, Aug 3, 2007.

1. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
  2. eots

eots

Dec 18, 2004
    Morris, IL.
    Well, I'm replying anyway just for the sake of the pollsters.
    I'm a maintainance electrician @ Caterpillar Inc. and have replaced most of the 60year old wiring in my home.
    All the wires in the basement were accessible cuz of exposed rafters and in the attic above the 2nd floor cuz most of it goes to the top first then down to the switches/outlets.
    The wiring in the 1st floor walls is still there unmolested except for a couple rooms that I gutted for remodelling. Dadgum if the SOB's who put it in didn't switch some of the neutral wires instead of the hot:scowl: wires. Turning off a switch to a light still left the hot wire energized in a ceiling jct. box where I was putting in a ceiling fan.:bawl: It bit me but I suppose I shudda turned off the breaker any way. Just was too lazy to figure out which one it was.
    Did you have a particular question?

3. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001

Well, yes, I do now. Two.

I found that the outlet that I wanted to plug my amp into has the neutral and hot wires reversed, and my amp doesn't do well with this situation.

Question 1 - What do I do if I find this condition on a gig?

Question 2 - Why do some other amps work just fine on these outlets, and if they seem to work just fine, are they at risk of some sort of damage due to improper grounding?

4. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    One more question...

Question 3 - I'd like to fix it. I'd shut off the breaker, then take it apart and switch the two wires around, and put it all back together... any reason not to do it myself?

5. v-12

v-12

Mar 3, 2005