Who's in sales?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by RAM, Apr 8, 2004.

1. RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    If you're in sales, what do you sell? Do you like it? How long have you been selling what you sell?

The reason I ask is because I'm in the process of a career transition and am looking towards sales.

Thanks! RAM
  2. BustinJustin

BustinJustin banned

Sep 12, 2003
    NYC, LI too
    I have been in sales for a long time, and it will get to you (at least it's getting to me).

can you give me an overview of what kind of sales you doing... phone, travel, international, internet, washers and dryers?

I'll give as much insight as I can.
  3. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    I worked in sales for three years. Not for me, so I stopped.

4. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    I'm in sales.

...as quite a few people here at TB will attest to!!!

I dunno if I could take being in a "generic" sales job, but I really dig what I'm doing here...usually...there are good and bad days, just like any other job.
  5. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    I've been slinging guitars and basses for about 12 years.... holy cow! 12 years! Geez, I need to try something else.

If you are going to be selling, get used to rejection, and get a thick skin. There are times you want to throw people out the door without opening it first.

That said, selling guitars can be a real fun experience, provided you aren't working for GC. :D It pays reasonably well for the relatively little work that is required, but you have to be careful not to spend your entire paycheck at work.