Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Who's NOT in a Band

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by watspan, Jan 28, 2003.

1. watspan

watspan Supporting Member

Nov 25, 2002
    madison, wi
    How many of you are NOT in a Band ?

What do you do to stay sharp? Jam w/ friends? Play along w/ cd's? Take Lessons?

2. RAM

RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    Right now, I'm not in a band. I don't have time. I'm working full time (and then some). I'm also serving a term as treasurer of our condo board. Plus the fact that I'm a full time grad student.

But, school will be done in June, at which time I'll be a lot more free to try to put something together.

I can't wait!:D

3. I haven't been in a band in over 20 years. The ones I was in back then never played anything more than a block party; too much in-fighting.

I just practice different blues and jazz patterns that I have memorized and am trying to learn some of Mr.Bach's (J.S) stuff, but, it starts out kinda easy then turns into a snowstorm fast. It's not the same as you get older trying to jam with people; most that I knew when younger have either given up, moved away or died. There's a few friends I jam with occasionally, but, nothing steady.

One of these days... :)

Mike

4. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    I just left the band I was in this summer.

I'm in a band, but it's very very infrequent at the moment.

To stay sharp I just practice. That includes playing along with CDs, and transcribing etc.

5. I'm not. I just jam with friends currently. One of these days I may be ready to make the leap and find a band, but until then, I will just preactice.

6. stephanie

stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA