Why 5 basses for a gig?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by MarkMcCombs, May 20, 2004.

1. Here's a question that's bugged me for some time....

While at a Lucinda Williams concert a while back, I was (of course) impressed that the bass player (what's his name?) changed basses like every 2 songs. He must have had about 5-7 basses with him. Most were Fender-like (I remember a Sadowsky Jazz). My question....WHY? I've been playing bass for about 10 years now, and I can't fathom owning that many basses, let alone having that many on the road with me, even if I had roadies! And be honest now, for live gigs, there's really not that big of a difference in how these instruments sound (recording might change things a bit). It's not like on one song he needs a Marcus Miller sound, and the next a reggae sound, and the next Flea, and the next Jamerson.

What do you thin?
  2. Funkize you

Funkize you Guest

Nov 4, 2003
    Westminster Ca.
    Maybe he just wanted to.

Thats a good reason to do anything...

Maybe he has better ears than you and Can hear a PENOMINAL difference.
  3. BustinJustin

BustinJustin banned

Sep 12, 2003
    NYC, LI too
    Don't know, but I'll guess...

1st reason-
    some basses tuned differently

2nd reason-
    different tone possibilites

3rd reason-
    back up basses, unless he/she uses em all

The tech for this guy was in bass player zine a while back. I have the issue if ya really want to know.
  4. vene-nemesis

vene-nemesis Banned

Jul 17, 2003
    Bilbao España
    diferent tunings in every bass might be one reason, remember that a 4 tunned CGCF needs a heavy gauge string to tune it down (or up if you use a LB string as the fourth) to C or other tunnings like d#g#c#f# requiere multiple string tunning
  5. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    in an ideal roady assisted world...

I think 3 to 5 would be fine.

1.) main fretless
    2.) main fretted