Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MAJOR METAL, Nov 26, 2002.

MAJOR METAL HARVESTER OF SORROW Staff Member Supporting Member

After just getting my JACK CASADY BASS i realized it desirved something better then a Peavy TNT 130. So i have been thinking about AMPEG OR SWR ampeg is warm but SWR is alot lighter and clearer they both have good things about them. Why did you pick one over another. Thanks :)
  2. You can "kinda" make an SWR Sound like an Ampeg, but you can never get an Ampeg to sound like an SWR.
  3. Nino Valenti

Nino Valenti Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 2, 2001
    Staten Island NYC
    Builder: Valenti Basses
    To me, that's a good thing. ;)

I started playing Ampegs cause I like the way they sounded with minimal effort. I found, IME, I have to mess with any SWR I've tried alot to get a sound I liked.
  4. Jon Burnet

Jon Burnet

Jan 21, 2001
    Memphis, TN
    IMHO you can always add "warmth" or even mud but you cant remove it if it is inheritant(god i suck at spelling) to the amp.i went from ampeg to swr because i couldnt get the fedelity i needed from the ampeg but i could get the warmth from the SWR. YMMV. also give aguilar a try for a sorta in between.
  5. secretdonkey

Oct 9, 2002
    Austin, TX
    If you prefer a warm-to-grindy, classic (or heavy) rock sound, go with Ampeg. If you want a clean, pure sound that will work with any style music - and almost definitely if you play any slap - go with the SWR.

I love my SWR and am using it in a band that has 'Ampeg' written all over it. I would like to get a little more of that Ampeg warmth and grind in my sound, for this band and the occasional pickup blues gigs I play, anyway - but I'd never become a fulltime Ampeg guy.

That, of course, is just a matter of taste. If I had to guess based on your username alone, I'd say you would prefer an Ampeg ;)
  6. Gabu

Jan 2, 2001
    Woodland Hills, CA