1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Why are so many tabs WAY up the fretboard??

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by Pilgrim, Feb 2, 2012.

1. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member

I started playing in the 60's and have a decent command of fretboard position. When I need to resort to looking up a tab to get a clue about a new number, it amazes me to see how hard tab authors work to play way up the fretboard.

When I see a tab that's all at the 7th through 12th frets when there are easier ways to play the tune using open strings, I wonder what the author has been smoking. If I can use the tab at all, I generally transpose all the fingerings down an entire octave so that it's sane and more easily playable.

Are people convinced that there's something wrong with playing on the bottom six frets? Do they believe that it looks much cooler to play everything halfway up the fretboard? Or have they decided that open strings are bad medicine and should be avoided (something I strongly disagree with)?

Probably all simply rhetorical questions, I know.

2. trblWthTrebles

trblWthTrebles

Jan 8, 2012
    What music?
    What tabs?

I look at a ton of classic rock guitarpro tab mostly from ultimate and have no idea where you're coming from on this.

3. Pilgrim

Fair question. Almost every tab I have ever looked at avoids open strings and is higher up the neck than I'd play it.

Here are tabs for a couple of Beatles tunes that have substantial portions of the number fairly high up on the neck:

Hey Bulldog bass tab (ver 3) by Beatles @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

Money Thats What I Want bass tab by Beatles @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com