Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Why are the new Ashdown EB combos so cheap?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by erik_hammarlund, Mar 31, 2004.

1. Lord knows they *look* promising on paper--$280 gets you a 180w 12" combo, and for $300 you get a 15". I'm new to bass, i've heard good things about Ashdown, and I'm tempted to buy one.

but I also found out that the *old* EB combos cost more like $400 and i'm wondering where the savings are. $280 for 180 watts is Behringer territory and they're not supposed to be stellar on the reliability front.

Before I shell out for one, any comments?
    p.s. I'm not a huge ebay fan--don't know enough yet not to get screwed.

2. Rock City

Rock City

Apr 8, 2001
    Boston,Ma
    All of the new Ashdown product, with the exception of the ABM series, is now made in China. The quality is as good as it ever was, but the prices are much more affordable now. Makes it easier for people on a limited budget to own Ashdown now.
    GEEK

3. Pöl

Pöl

May 31, 2003
    Belgium
    Here in Belgium (Europe), all Ashdown product have become a lot cheaper (the abm 500's prices dropped 400 euros!)...

Givin' this, I hesitated no more and ordered the ABM 500 evo II RC + ABM 410 cab

Can't wait 'till it's here!!

4. JayAmel

JayAmel Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2002
    Aurillac, France
    Being the owner of a brand new made in China Ashdown MAG amp, I confirm that the quality is excellent. And the drop on the price allowed to get an excellent amp at an unbeatable price.

Cheers,
    JL

5. Sounds like there's a new Ashdown combo in my near future.

I will play a 4 string for the foreseeable future (by the time I'd move to 5 strings, I'd have a new amp). Can I get away with the 12" version? Or is that a stupid place to save $20? Anyone heard them both?

6. zoran

zoran

May 10, 2002
    croatia