Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Why are there few 12" loaded bass cabs?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by KampKomfort, Jul 29, 2000.

1. KampKomfort

KampKomfort

Jul 27, 2000
    I'm new to the head/cab world, so I have become curious. Why are 10" and 15" cab systems so prevalent? Why aren't 12"'s used more often? My combo is a 1X12", and I think it's a great compromise between low end and punch.

Is it because players that go with a head/cab setup are generally less likely to compromise on sound? Just curious...

KampKomfort

p.s. Great forum! I've learned so much in the last few days.

2. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    Because most bassists are lemmings [​IMG] They're followers, they use what they see. Manufacturers make what they sell the most of. For example, if Flea or Victor Wooten used reasonably priced 12" loaded cabinets you can bet someone could sell a bunch of them.

Coolhandjjl likes this.
  3. Matthias

Matthias

May 30, 2000
    Vienna, Austria
    I think Brad is right.

But there might be other reasons too and I would be very interested wich these are!

I have an idea, though:
    Why not 1x12"? Because a 1x15" has more low end and modern 15" drivers are rather fast anyway. The only niche for 1x12": small and light weight combos (every single inch and pound counts)

But why not 2x12"? I don't know! I guess this would be a great stand alone cab:
    More speaker surface (volume!) than a single 1x15" or 2x10" cab, less weight than a 4x10" cab.
    But maybe most bassists don't like a compromise in sound?

cheers,
    Matthias

4. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego