why are you a pro bassist?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by furiously funky, Sep 26, 2003.

1. furiously funky

furiously funky Guest

Dec 28, 2002
    im looking at what to be when i grow up, and in another thread, i am also trying to deside on the school to go to. why are you a session musician? why did you choose to become one, how did you become one, that type of deal. thank you.
  2. godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    I'm a pro because I can be. I've worked hard, made contacts all over the world. I've gone to
    music school; took two lesson a week for nearly 10 years.

i've invested so much of my life in learning and playing music that to just sit around and flounder would make me crazy.

Plus, it's fun as hell !
  3. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    Because I can't imagine doing anything else.
  4. furiously funky

furiously funky Guest

Dec 28, 2002
    why did you choose this path when you were younger? do you have job security?
  5. jgsbass

May 28, 2003
    Floral Park, NY
    The main reason I am a pro is because people pay me to do this.
  6. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    I've never been able to imagine doing anything else.

I have job security - benefits, a pension, investment plan, etc....
  7. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY

And that - as our dearly departed Frank Zappa once said - is truly "the crux of the biscuit".

I agree with Jon 100%.
  8. furiously funky

furiously funky Guest

Dec 28, 2002
    what jobs offer benefits? if you did sessions etc. what would that be like?