1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Why aren't 12" bass speakers more popular?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Acid Test, Oct 12, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Acid Test

Acid Test

Oct 3, 2013
    An obvious noob question but if you were only going to have a single cabinet, then does the 12" speaker make most sense?

Trying to figure out if the 12" speaker is the ultimate solution to the 10" vs 15" speaker argument since it resides in the middle or is it a poor solution because it doesn't do anything well.

2. I have been using 12" speakers for well over 20 years and I prefer them. I do believe it is a good "in-between" speaker and with the newer speaker technology, it is just as good n tight as the older 10s and just as deep as the older 15s. The assumption though is that you are comparing a 10, 12 or 15 using the same designed cab rather than different style cabs (which, as some point out - matters very much).

Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  3. chris_b

chris_b

Jun 2, 2007
    The size of a speaker(s) is irrelevant when it comes to how much and what kind of noise it makes.

The design of the speakers and the design of the cab are far more important to the sound.

slugger, basspraiser, MrGoat and 16 others like this.
  4. I've left the big stacks way behind me and am using two lightweight 12" cabs (Van der Kley) and a LMIII.
    They're loud enough, deep enough and in addition light enought to save my back. I love 'm!

SJan3, funkinbottom, Mark_70 and 4 others like this.
  5. Bob Clayton

Bob Clayton Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 14, 2001
    Philly Suburbs
    Maybe it's nothing, but I much prefer my 12" amps than my 10s or 15s.

6. Arthur U. Poon

Arthur U. Poon

Jan 30, 2004
    SLC, Utah -USA-
    Endorsing Artist: Mike Lull Custom Basses