Why bands get paid so badly and venues are disappearing.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by BAG, Sep 29, 2017.

1. I've written this or similar in numerous threads but thought it deserved its own thread. Most of it relates to your weekend warrior bands and unknown originals bands but also, here in Australia at least, to the well known bands with a following and good record sales.

I've been managing pubs and clubs around Australia for well over 20 years and before that I was a roadie for some of Australia's top bands (Paul Kelly and Dragon to name two), a Lazer and lighting operator/installer/designer for big night clubs, a musician and a DJ, so i've seen the scene from many different perspectives.

I'm going to give you a short (not so short) rundown on the venue's perspective. Take into account, this is Aussie dollars and, more importantly, Aussie pay rates for bar staff and security.

Most venues that put on live music now do so because the owner or manager is a live music fan, not to actually make money putting on the band. Why is that? Well, because it's actually very difficult to make money with live music these days as i'll show.