Why Bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bubbawubba, Feb 8, 2001.

1. bubbawubba

Feb 7, 2001
    I want to keep it but my mom wants me to get an electric guitar. My mom asked me what was so good about a bass guitar but I didn't know. Can you help me and tell me why a bass is so good?
  2. jcadmus

Apr 2, 2000
    Sorry, bubba, but if your Mom doesn't get, she doesn't get it.

I've been playing bass for more than 20 years and MY Mom STILL doesn't get it.
  3. Because a bass is more important rhythmically than a guitar. It relates the rhythm of the drums and the melody of the guitar to one another. Plus, its a better way to express yourself than a guitar, for everyone plays guitar, but hardly any-one plays a bass. Why? Because it needs a good sense of rhythm and a knack for melodic thinking. If u give it up for a guitar, you'd be demeaning yourself(no offence to guitar players, but a guitar feels very limiting after playing a bass).
  4. Gabu

Jan 2, 2001
    Woodland Hills, CA
    If your mom likes guitar so much tell her to play it.

If you don't know which instrument you like, give it some thought... It is up to you!

Do you want to hold down the rythem. (Can be done with a bass or a guitar)

Do you want to play leads? (Usually done with guitar but some bass players do love to run...)

What is it that YOU want to do? All the instruments are important for the over all end product of creativing music. Now it is just a case of figuring out what you like and then it doesn't matter what everyone else thinks, says or does.
  5. bubbawubba

Feb 7, 2001
    I would like to play as the lead and I also like a bass's rythym. My mom says that you can sing with an electric guitar but not a bass guitar and that you can play by yourself. My friends say that the electric guitar sounds flat without a bass though...

[Edited by bubbawubba on 02-08-2001 at 03:15 PM]
  6. I_Dream_Of_Bass

Feb 8, 2001