1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why did you choose bass over guitar

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by etaherk, Jun 4, 2020.

1. etaherk

etaherk

May 4, 2020
    I'm pretty new to the bass world I would say I have less than a month of experience on bass. I also have the same amount of experience on electric guitar in general I'm at a point in guitar where my chords sound good and I'm able to switch between them fast enough and in bass I can play a few songs and know a little bit of theory. I think it's best if I only focus on one or the other I find bass to be a lot more fun and engaging than guitar but on the other hand I love how I can just play by myself on the guitar and I love the way it sounds by itself. At this point I'm stuck between the two and I cannot make a choice. To those of you who made a similar choice why did you choose bass over guitar. Do you think I should play bass because it seems much more fun and engaging or should I choose guitar because I think it sounds better and has more features.

J_Bass, teh-slb and jamro217 like this.
  2. pcake

pcake Supporting Member

Sep 20, 2011
    Los Angeleez
    this is something only you can decide, and i doubt everyone's answer will be the same. i can tell you this - you can play bass with a variety of effects, overdrive and more, so there's probably a lot of tonal options you haven't touched yet. you can play higher notes on bass, too, you know. and you can play chords on bass, as well - you can even sing along. i'd suggest you experiment more on the bass, watch players who play bass in ways you haven't tried yet, and decide after lots more research.