Why did you stop compressing your live rig??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Mcrelly, Dec 3, 2004.

1. Yes, I usually compress my live rig

111 vote(s)
  2. No, I stopped compressing my live rig (please explain)

59 vote(s)
  1. Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
    have you ever owned a good compressor and used it with your live rig then stop using it live??? why?? trying to decide...
  2. bassmanjones

Feb 23, 2002
    Boston, MA
    I never had a good compressor, just the onces that came on various amps that I owned over the years.

I stopped using it because I started practicing which improved my technique to the point that it wasn't necessary...except for the tonal quality of truly achieving that Marcus MIller slap tone. Otherwise, live a compressor can't do anything a few hours of practice can't.

Recording on the other hand...
    howlin likes this.
  3. funkmuffin

Aug 18, 2004
    Akron, Ohio
    When I first started playing, I was really, really inconsistent with my attack. My solution was to squash my sounds donw so that no matter what I did with my right hand, it came out even. As I improved, I came to hate the squashed sound, so went with less and less compression until Im clean...
  4. jpfisher

Jul 1, 2004
    Maine, USA
    I would've hit both poll responses if I could've.

I have an old dbx 163x ("one knob squeezer") that sounds great. I dial it in real mild for most gigs, but I like to squeeze it a bit more for loud crashing about.

But - I recently removed it to add to a buddy's pa rack for a lead vocalist treatment and I haven't replaced it and don't miss it that much.

But I will, I guess, when I get a round tuit.
  5. Funky Doctor

Funky Doctor

Aug 28, 2003
    I sold my compressor. It was really good to. Presonus BlueMax. Had a whole bunch of really good presets. Really bought everything up front and made my amp seem louder. Too bad I have car rego coming up in like... 2 days ago.
  6. jeff schmidt