1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why do Fender have guitar amps called BASSMAN amps?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by de la mocha, Jul 26, 2007.

1. de la mocha

de la mocha

Aug 20, 2005
    NEW JERSEY
    I'm confused. I was searching for Fender tube amp combos for bass but all of these guitar amps popped up. I'm like "okaaaaay....."!

Are these things compatible with the bass guitar or no? I'm just looking for a great practice amp for my new apartment and I'm not too technically inclined here.....

2. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    They were originally designed for bass players, but guitar players decided they liked the tone and they became quite popular with that instrument. Somewhere along the line I think Fender just realized that more guitarists were buying them than bass players...

Though I could be wrong. I usually am.

3. Jazzman

Jazzman

Nov 26, 2002
    Raleigh, NC
    Hey, watch your mouth my amp might hear you...I use a Bassman for bass. Low volume [jazz] and recording.

bassman_6g6-b_01.

4. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Nice amp! I'm willing to be that there are a lot of bass players who use their bassmans for bass amps - I believe, however, that there are more guitar players that do so. (FWIW, I think B.B. King uses Bassmans.)

5. Jazzman

Jazzman

Nov 26, 2002
    Raleigh, NC
    I am sure there are ten guitar plays who use them for every one bass player... ;) They are not too powerful and certainly won't cut it in any rock situations. Although, when you plug in, it is an instant old-school tone. The lows are somewhat muffled and it is a little more polite sounding than a B-15, but it kind of gives that same vibe. I believe back in the day most bass players would prefer the Showman [a "guitar" head] over the Bassman.

6. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000