Why do most "non-musicians" have no clue what a bass is?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Albino_Ryno, Oct 1, 2000.

1. Albino_Ryno

Albino_Ryno Guest

Sep 17, 2000
    Knoxville TN
    It disturbs me that none of my friends had even the slightest clue at to what a bass was until I started playing. When I ask anybody to name their favorite guitar players they can sit there and at name off at least 7-10 players but when I ask who their favorite bass players are they sit there for a minute and then finally remember Flea. Why does the general public seem to pay attention to guitar players more than bass players. Example - On almost any music awards the guitar player and the lead singer will present awards or make appearances. Rarely the bass player will make an appearance. I don't really think people realize how important a bass player is. A few weeks ago when Creed's bass player left the band I heard a radio announcer talking about it and he made the comment "How hard can it be to find a new bass player?" and it made me really pissed off. I just want anybody's general opinion about why the bass isn't as widely recognized as the guitar.
  2. Slater

Slater Bye Millen! Hello?

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    Most non-musicians think a bass player is a guitar player. How many times have you heard, "What kind of guitar is that?", or, "Why are your strings so big?" (I hear it all the time).

Most people don't know that Sting is a bass player, and he's a frontman/solo-artist.

Once, I almost glued a picture of Rodney Dangerfield on one of my basses with the caption, "No Respect" (My girlfriend talked me out of it) :D .
  3. Last year one of my friends signed in my yearbook:
    "Hey ad, you're pretty good at playing...what is it you play again?"
    Doesn't bother me too much though. Some day soon (I hope) they'll realize that half the thumping in their Korean rap & other such music is, in fact, a bass... :D
  4. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000