1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Why do people knock the Ricky slap tone????

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by panic_striken, May 2, 2006.

1. panic_striken

panic_striken

Oct 13, 2005
    I was just wonderin'???? I have a 4003 that I run through a Genz-Benz hybrid and Ampeg 4x10, and the slap tone is amazing!!!!

2. RandallFlagg

RandallFlagg Guest

Aug 18, 2003
    Kansas City
    Well, I've been playing Rics for about 30 years now and, to be honest, have never heard one "slapped"....

3. panic_striken

panic_striken

Oct 13, 2005
    [​IMG]

Just listen to some Rick James:D

4. alanbass1

alanbass1

Feb 8, 2006
    London
    I think it's just a case that other basses are just more suitable, both in layout and tone. I'm not saying a Ricky can't be used for slap, just that jazz types have a more 'definative' slap sound. You could play early Yes tracks on a jazz type bass, but would it sound more convincing than a Ricky, no I don't think so.

5. MikeBass

MikeBass Supporting Member

Nov 4, 2003
    Royal, Oak, MI.
    I played a goof green one with black binding that had a pretty cool slapped tone.
    Don't remember which model.
    But I'm strange like that. You should hear me (see actually, there is a video) of me slapping on a Grestch hollow body. And it sounded cool as hell!:D

6. JKwo

JKwo

Jan 12, 2006
    Berklee
    hahahahah!

Thank you for making me think of the following..

http://www.collegehumor.com/movies/52605

^Who says ricks are no good for slap?

7. i think that the rick has a good slap tone, but it just seems to get lost in a mix imo

of course i think that about rics in general...great tone, but they seem to get lost in the mix easily...roger glovers ric was the only ric i've ever heard really cut through and sit in front of the mix

8. panic_striken