Why do Ps and Js sound different?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Tusec, Feb 18, 2010.

1. Tusec

Tusec

Jan 10, 2010
    I just bought an 80s Squier Precision to go with my MIM RI60s Jazz and am impressed with how much chunkier the P sounds (I've been playing bass for about two months now so these kinds of things are still new to me).

I had been thinking the P sound must be the result of its pickup placement -- i.e. that it was picking up an especially fat sounding set of overtones that could only be picked up at that spot.

But then I pulled out the measuring tape, and lo and behold both the P and J neck pickups are located at the exact same spot -- both have their polepieces sitting 11 inches below the 12th fret (measuring the E/A side of the P pickup). This means they're both reading the string in the exact same way.

So it must come down to the pickup. The P pickup is just bigger and fatter sounding.

Does this sound right to you guys?

And of course the interesting conclusion is you ought to be able to make a J sound just like a P (or at least darn close) with the right neck pickup.

2. YL_Bass

YL_Bass

Dec 3, 2009
    Langley, BC
    Oh this is going to be fun. :)

I'm sorry I have nothing constructive to say.

3. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Aug 16, 2008
    Hamburg, Germany
    Well, the P is a split coil, J is a single coil...

Now, I wonder if you could get closer to the P sound with a humbucker in a single coil enclosure?

4. Matt R.

Matt R.

Jul 18, 2007
    Huntsville AL
    Oh boy. :eyebrow:

5. nostatic

nostatic

Jun 18, 2004
    Lompoc, CA
    Endorsing Artist: FEA Labs
    because they are 6 apart. You have to sound different if you're 6 apart.

6. one makes a puh sound and the other makes juh sound.
    if they sounded the same kids would love jeanut butter and pelly just as much as peanut butter and jelly

7. Tusec

Tusec

Jan 10, 2010
    That's what I'm thinking.