1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why do so many bass solos sound like guitar solos?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by edubb, May 31, 2007.

1. edubb

edubb

Dec 6, 2006
    I am new to this forum and new to playing bass. However, I am not new to music, am 42 yrs old and have attended hundreds of live performances. I am curious why so many bassist's, especially ones that play 6 strings or more, spend so much time playing high notes :confused: . I am dying to see/hear the bass player that solo's in the bassment :bassist: giving me something I can feel as well as hear. I am not ragging on anybody, I have just wondered this for many, many years. This forum has given me the opportunity to ask this question.

2. Notes in the upper register are clearer and easier to hear IMO . when I solo its most of the times above the 7th fret ..Also Im a bass guitarist , so my solos will sound similar to a guitar .

3. Marcus Willett

Marcus Willett

Feb 8, 2005
    Palm Bay, FL
    Endorsing Artist: Bag End - Dean Markley - Thunderfunk
    I actually kind of agree with the OP. This is one of the primary reasons why I don't play a 6 (there's others too). Once you start playing that high, it doesn't sound like a bass anymore. It gets more guitar-like, and if that's the case, why not just have a damn guitar solo? To me, the upper limit is the high D on the G string (19th fret). Once you go above that, whether with a higher string or just more frets, it just doesn't sound like a bass anymore.

Just IMO, but if it's not gonna sound like a bass solo (at least somewhat), if I have to try and figure out what instrument it is (gee...is that a guitar?...a baritone guitar?...wait...well, that was kinda bass-like...hmmm...jeez, what is that; a 9-string bass/guitar thing) it loses a lot of what makes it special and unique.