Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Why do so many ppl hate Fieldy

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by ShadowR, Jun 26, 2001.

1. ShadowR

ShadowR

Jun 26, 2001
    I just started playing electric bass a few weeks ago, and I've been looking up stuff about bass, bassists, technique, etc. I've come across quite alot of stuff saying how much they hate Fieldy, but never why. So, why do so many bassists hate Fieldy? I don't really listen to Korn so I don't really know what their bass parts sound like.

2. the people who are saying that fieldy sucks are the same people who say flea sucks and mostly for the same reasons. every single new inexperienced bass player thinks that he is the greatest when they have nothing to base this on and this sometimes pisses off those of us who actually have good taste and prefere he technical challenge as opposed to the dead head school of beating the crap out of the instrument

3. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    I don't hate him. I'm not pissed at the newbies.

4. agyeman

agyeman Member

Mar 6, 2001
    People don't like fieldy cause of his "technique".

Just slapping a muted note to the beat of the drums doesn't sound very good IMO.

5. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

IMO, there are a few reasons -

> People who really know compostitional skills and how bass lines are constructed will find his playing moronic or boring at the least.

> His playing is very unconventional and he upsets the applecart.

> Technically proficient he ain't.