Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

why do some do without lines?

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by marsk, Nov 2, 2002.

1. marsk

marsk

Aug 17, 2002
    Hello,

I have read why fine fretless players such as Steve Lawson and Gary Willis play with lined fingerboards, but I would like to know what advantages players such as Michael Manring and Alain Caron see in an unlined fingerbord.

Mark

2. Michael Manring

Michael Manring TalkBass Pro Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Frankly, I think you're probably better off with the lines. When I started playing fretless there weren't that many choices for instruments around, so I ended up with basses with unlined fingerboards. Over the years I got used to it, but I think having the lines probably makes learning to play in tune a little easier. As far as I'm concerned, anything you can do to help yourself play in tune is worth looking in to!

3. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    hey michael

on this topic, have you ever found it hard to play on a lined fretless - since you're more used to unlined?

the reason that i ask is that i mainly play unlined fretless and i have the hardest time playing with a lined fretless - every time i look at the board it get flumoxed.

4. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    I agree with JT. My fretless in unlined, but even before I got it, I tried playing a friend's lined fretless, I just found it really confusing. Since I was used to playing between the frets, it felt wierd to play on the lines. Even the first time I tried it I found the unlined one much easier.

5. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
    I bought an unlined bass because it was cheap and I got a good trade in. I personally prefer my fretless over anything else (there was this single cut Elrick 5 though....)