Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Why do they call it "R&B"?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by alexssandro, Jun 14, 2001.

1. Perhaps there has already been a thread about this as this is one of those things that just doesn't make sense. I don't get it. I hear "R&B" on the radio, but I certainly don't hear any rhythm and blues in that. I'd say that at least 75% of the people don't even know what R&B stand for. So why call it "R&B"?

2. It's just a marketing tool used by record companies. Don't sweat it.

3. DaveB

DaveB

Mar 29, 2000
    Toronto Ontario
    Interesting question. I'm a lifelong student of Rhythm & Blues. Let me take a crack at an answer.

In the late 40's and early '50's the amalgam of jazz and blues became R&B. The Rhythm part because it was more danceable (rhythmic) than jazz and was blues based. Back then the name made sense.Good examples were Louis Jordan and Ruth Brown.

As it moved into the '60's R&B became the Memphis Stax sound, the Atlantic Records sound, and the Detroit Motown sound. I think Stax was pretty true to the definition but Motown made it way more "pop" -like. In the '60's the definition certainly kept it's integrity through James Brown.

The late '60s and '70's saw a new melting of R&B into "Soul" - which I would define as slick, more commercialized R&B. The Philadelphia sound and later L.A. based Motown were the torch carriers here.

The evolution has continued to where the Toni Braxton, Boys2Men, "soul" music had been re-labelled R&B again. And I think that has been a marketing thing. You ask a 23 years old R&B fan his/her favorite music and they will say"R&B" not "Rhythm & Blues". That's how it's been marketed in recent years.