Why do whole bands tune down?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by AGCurry, Dec 23, 2005.

1. AGCurry

Jun 29, 2005
    Kansas City
    I've been playing in bands for 40 years, and in that time I've never been in one that even DISCUSSED "tuning down." Now, it seems that it's fairly common.

What's the deal?

Is it so they don't have to play barre chords?

Is it because they wan't the fatness of an E chord but can only reach a D vocally?

And why haven't I heard about anyone tuning UP?

I don't understand. Enlighten me.
  2. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    It sounds heavier, plus it allows you to play barre chords with one finger, making it easier for the guitarist.

Cool thing is that an ultra heavy band like DEP uses E tuning exclusively :smug:
  3. justateenpoet

justateenpoet Have you...killed the Venture brothers!?!?

May 14, 2005
    In my experience (Hardcore/Metal) tuning down is usually a way for the band to achieve a lower, more agressive sound. A majority of today's heavy bands tune down to get the really crunchy tone that you hear so often.

Tuning down is not a new thing. There were/are many pieces (written in the key of D major) written for classical guitar that utilize Drop D tuning as a necessity for chord arrangements. Classical guitarists sometimes also use tunings like EADF#BE in an effort to get a sound similar to a lute.

In the end, altered tunings (for me) are really based on a "What you need vs. What you want" way of thinking. I tune my guitars down to CFA#D#GC because it sounds cool, but I keep my basses in standard tuning because it's what I need for gigs and the like.
  4. Folmeister

Folmeister Knowledge is Good - Emile Faber Supporting Member

May 7, 2003
    Tomball, Texas
    I am running into this for the first time in many years of playing. Lots of groups do this, KISS, SRV. . . .the list is endless. As far as I can tell it is about two things:

1. A slightly fatter sound