Why do you young guys play like you do?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by oldfclefer, May 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oldfclefer

oldfclefer low ended

May 5, 2005
    Southern Ohio
    I'm going to start this thread because something has confused me over the past few years. Whenever I go to a music store or take a look at web forums that target bassists, why do so many young bassists use the pop and snap style of bass playing? The reason I'm asking is because as an old school bassist, I'm aware that most popular music uses unspectacular bass lines with a few exceptions--that includes today's most popular music. I know that guys like Wooten and Clarke are doing some great things with bass, but I'm guessing they're not making as much money as say Dusty Hill or Gene Simmons. So what is it that is attracting so many young bassist to a complex form of play that they will probably never be able to employ in a practical sense?

Just wondering,

2. Youth + Inexperience = Tendency to Overplay/Lack of Taste/Inflated Musical Ego = Pop 'n' Snap? :meh:

Just a theory. :D :D :D :D
  3. Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    Two words: Ryan and Flea
  4. Because its flashy and it impresses people? Seriously, when's the last time you were thumpin out roots and fifths in a music store and someone came up to you and complimented you on your playing? No rock guitarist picks up a guitar and thinks "Hmm.. let me play some good old folk music..." they think "Yeah I want to rip out some Hendrix here..."
  5. gilbert46

Sep 21, 2004
    Sacramento, CA
    Im 23, so possibly young. Im not terribly experienced though. I like to give a bass a test drive with slap as well as my regular playing style. Its not something I ever perform with, but its fun to do, and good practice for my fingers as well as timing on my own playing. If Im buying a bass, I like the wide spacing to get my fingers in for those pops.
  6. *ToNeS*

Jan 12, 2001
    Sydney AU