1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Why Don't People Build Basses With One Piece Body Blank?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by anon65884001, Apr 1, 2009.

1. anon65884001

anon65884001 Guest

Feb 1, 2009
    Hi all
    I've done some searching but i can't find anything about why people don't use one piece body blank
    For example, my fender jazz 24 is 2 piece alder for body with bookmatched quilt maple top
    Bookmatched top, i understand why
    But why don't most luthiers or companies use one pice wood as a body
    I have no experience in building any instruments, so i am a complete noob
    Help me here

EDIT:
    So is it worth it?
    In terms of tonewise only (so not considering price)
    And thanks all for great responses =]

2. Well, The reason I use two piece bodies is because I rarely find a piece of suitable wood that is big enough to do a one piece. But that's just me.

3. pilotjones

pilotjones Supporting Member

Nov 8, 2001
    US-NY-NYC
    Go to a lumber yard and try to find a piece of wood, with no defects, 2" thick and 13-14" wide. Then you'll know the answer to your question. :)

4. JC Basses

JC Basses

Mar 12, 2009
    Rocklin, CA
    Exactly, I think it all comes down to cost. Sure you could find a 1 piece body, but a 2 or 3 piece body is much cheaper. So they go with that. I would always go with a 1 piece if I could find it at a reasonable price.

5. My first bass, I bought new, a 1964 Tiesco solid body Jazz. It has a one piece Mahogany body and has a wonderful, warm tone.

6. I really doubt that a 1 piece body has a significant (or even noticeable) effect on tone.

joseplluissans and pudge like this.
  7. heck, why stop there - let's go with an all 1 piece neck & body! Yeah, I'm thinking that tree doesn't exist. ;)

8. 20db pad

20db pad