Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

why have i never seen a custom bass with a p pickups?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by pestilence, Aug 3, 2005.

1. pestilence

pestilence

Feb 4, 2004
    ive been playing bass for about 3 years but im just now getting really serious about it, and i was just wondering why you never see a pj or p custom bass?

2. kjones

kjones Supporting Member

Dec 4, 2004
    Maryland
    Do you consider a Sadowsky a custom bass? Some do, some don't. My Sadowsky has a PJ configuration, and Fuzzbass has a pure P bass from them.

3. 5bassman

5bassman Supporting Member

May 4, 2005
    Kennesaw,GA
    I just picked up a Mike Lull P5 "P" Bass. I read he builds around 250 guitars a year. That's pretty custom. Also Sadowsky builds both.

4. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    look around, they are out there. Also, sometimes the P pickup in in a soapbar case too.

Vic Wooten plays a PJ Fodera, the Sadowskys mentioned, Benavente, Elrick, Dingwall... many P or PJ basses being custom made

5. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

6. There are a number of them out there. I've seen a few custom basses w/ Bartolini P pickups, but you really just got to look. Heres a photo of mine, it has custom wound P-p'ups
    [​IMG]

7. membranophone

membranophone

Mar 19, 2000
    Madison, WI
    My Elrick has P/J pickups. It reminds me a lot of Victor Wooten's main Fodera bass, which also has P/J pickups.

[​IMG]

8. Radiobass

Radiobass

Jan 10, 2005
    There are tons with a P/J configuration.

If you mean only a P, then I presume is because most people who only need a P, don't need a custom bass to fill their needs, and are happy with what a Fender brings.

Just a though...

9. Yvon

Yvon Supporting Member

Nov 2, 2000
    Montreal, Canada