Why I am never playing pickstyle again...

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by ArtisFallen, May 14, 2005.

1. ArtisFallen

Jul 21, 2004
    So yeah I was pulled in by a few friends to play Rush's YYZ at the local eclectic rock concert. I love the song, but as most of you know, it's fast, really technically difficult, and as a self-taught player, i know very little about technique. So being a fool, i find out that i can play the bass fills faster with my favorite thumb pick (the kind that allows you to switch between pickstyle and fingerstyle with no effort), and play the rest of the song faster with standard fingerstyle.

I was playing keyboard of all things the act before, so i clipped my pick to the brim of my hat. (typical bassist style i hide my face under my beat up red sox hat. :cool: ) the problem was, I didn't realize it but the pick apparently fell off backstage.

So i'm standing onstage going Oh S* Oh S* where's my pick?!? I looked around, and halfway through the song dove to the floor and picked up some dirty dicarded peice of plastic and managed to mangle my way through the last few fills.

I absolutely hated it, and hated the stupid fool who first came up with the idea of "picks".

Well moral of the story is: you can't lose your fingers. I'm never EVER going to half ass learning the technique of a song by useing a pick.
  2. What you need is a device called a Wedgie. It's a rubber pick holder that clips onto your strings behind the nut.

Or if your bass has a pickguard, simply slip spare picks between the pickguard and the body.

I don't have any problem with a bassist using a pick, as long as they are playing the instrument like it should be played i.e. not like a guitar.

I like a Dunlop .60mm nylon pick. It's thin and I find I can get more speed than with a thicker one. I've never used a thumb pick though.
  3. Time Divider

Time Divider Guest

Apr 7, 2005
    Well moral of the story is: you can't lose your fingers.