Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Why is my Ampeg SVT 3 Pro outperforming a SWR SM-900??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by NapBass, Jan 17, 2005.

1. NapBass

NapBass

Jan 17, 2005
    I’m currently playing an Ampeg SVT3 Pro head along with 2 Mesa/Boogie cabs – 1 x 15 and a 2 x 10. I’ve been playing 2-3 times a week for the last 5 years through this rig and have always been happy with the sound. Recently I noticed my amp seemed like it wasn’t functioning at 100%, so I decided to demo a SWR SM-900. I’d done a lot of reading on various message boards and had only ever read positive reviews of the SM-900.

I played one night using the SM-900 with my Boogie cabs, and I was really disappointed with the sound I was getting. It seemed like the amp wasn’t producing the power or clarity that my Ampeg produced (even functioning at less than 100%). I had to play the SM-900 at a much higher level than my Ampeg to produce the volume of sound I’m used to. This really confused me because the SM-900 claims to produce 900 watts @ 4 ohms, while my Ampeg is rated at only 450 watts @ 4 ohms.

While I was disappointed in the performance of the SM-900, I wasn’t ready to give up on it because of all the positive feedback I had read about the amp and because I was playing it in a room I was unfamiliar with. I decided to try the amp again in a room I play weekly, so I’m very familiar with the acoustics. This time I took both amps to the job to hear them side-by-side. I set my rig up so I could easily switch the speakers from one amp to the other, and I played through each amp, switching back and forth several times. I was surprised to find that the Ampeg produced a punchier, cleaner, and louder sound.