why is picking faster then plucking

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by toycopbassist, Jul 8, 2001.

1. toycopbassist

Aug 12, 2000
    ok i play with my fingers and play punk music but all the punk bassist i see use a pick and i wanna know why? is it that much faster? i mean i can play Pennywise "fight till you die" with my finger pretty fast but all i hear is picking is faster?
    i was just bothering me so any insight into my world of dumbness will help me decide to learn how to pick or not to pick. thanks
  2. brewer9

Jul 5, 2000
    Picking is NOT faster than plucking. I double dare you in a speed competition. I've been using three fingers for about 15 years and each one of my three fingers are individually faster than your pick.......ssssssssssSmokin'!
  3. yeah, but if you'd been practicing with a pick for that long too, it would be faster.
  4. NightVampZ

Jun 22, 2001
    I hear that sometimes, but for me, I can not play with a pick. Well, I can play really slow and medium, but for really fast things, I have to use my fingers... I use 2 of them and it works great for me.

5. Dave Castelo

Dave Castelo

Apr 19, 2000
    i think the speed is not the problem...

both pick and fingers can be fast...

but i think you spend much more energy with fast fingering than fast picking...

also your fingers are gonna suffer (if you are not used to it).

that´s why we bassist can´t be narrow minded about pick vs finger... i still refuse to use pick on most songs but i have to accept that some songs are really difficult (or near impossible) to pull off with fingers (mostly in punk songs, besides punk bass sound is generally a pick sound).

my .02 USD
  6. The Navigator

The Navigator

May 17, 2001
    Tucson, AZ
    speed wise, I'm willing to bet a large amount of cash that the five fastest pluckers are almost twice as fast as the five fastest pickers.