Why is playing so uncomfortable???

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by NightmareCinema, Apr 18, 2003.

1. NightmareCinema

Mar 27, 2003
    I have been playing guitar for almost three years and bass for a few months, on guitar I can honestly say I can't play one full song without messing up a few times, even if it's a simple song and of course I suck at bass too. The problem? I always feel uncomfortable when playing standing up. Even sitting I usually feel a bit awkward, but standing I just get fatigued and usually my left shoulder (right hand player) starts killing me after about a minute of playing, my hands start getting very fatigued after about five minutes too. I've tried playing really low which was better on my right hand but not great, really high and everything in between and I just don't feel comfortable, my shoulder always feels uncomfortable no matter what. I've tried all kinds of relaxation techniques and nothing. I've even been to the doctor and there is nothing wrong with me. I've seriously considered qutting both instruments b/c this is extremely frustrating, anyone have any ideas of what I could do?
  2. If you want to get better / more comfortable at playing standing up, just play standing up all the time. I used to be like that too then I realized when am I ever going to play or even jam while sitting down? If you practice while standing up all the time it will probably feel more natural eventually.
  3. Fliptrique

Jul 22, 2002
    Szczecin, Poland
    Endorsing Artist: Mayones Guitars&Basses, Taurus Amplification
    I don`t know - those problems usually dissapear after a month or two of playing - hands get used to a bit unusall use of muscles, position etc. But after three years this shouldn`t be a problem. Only two things I can think about is that your right hand positioning is very wierd and simply wrong, or that you`re playing very, very hard and tense.