Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Why is Slap popular?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by EdgarHons, Nov 27, 2000.

1. EdgarHons

EdgarHons

Oct 14, 2000
    Although I'm a newbie, and really have very slim experience as a bassist, or a person in general being only 15...it seems that if you're good at slap, people automatically think you're some sort of Bass god. Where does this impression come from? I think Slap sounds cool sure...but whenever someone who knows nothing about music hears me, they say "Play some slap!" or something to that liking. One of my friends who plays slap mainly says it's done only for speed. Maybe I'm some sort of speed demon, but I can play MUCH faster non-slapping than slapping. I suck at slapping, given, but I can get really fast just regular ol playing. My friend is stuck using only the index and middle finger when it comes to playing, and so he's resorted to slapping for speed. Personally, when I play, I use index, middle, ring, and pinky and it gives me phenomenal speeds (No picks) Anyways...besides wondering why people think playing slap means playing great, I also am begged to ask who also plays slap for speed reasons? It seems as if no one around here can even fingerpick with more than 2 fingers, but they're slapping gods. Someone explain this slap phenomenom to me, and also tell me when it's going to end?

2. For me,slapping is fun.I don't use it very much when it comes to actual song writing.When I'm doodling around or if I'm showing off like a moron in a music store,it's for egotistical purposes.I suspect some people slap for the latter reason.Will it go away?Will people stop being arrogant?Forgive me if this sounds harsh.I've frequented alot of music stores and after awhile you start to notice things.