Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Why listen to some old bassist?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by dhadleyray, Oct 20, 2005.

1. dhadleyray

dhadleyray Guest

Dec 7, 2004
    Maybe I'm imagining it, but.....

I've been playing bass for 28 years, and along the way, I've had lessons with some great players. These lessons have been formal and informal. Some things I've learned just from being in bands with guys who were 20 years or more older than me. Those lessons were pleasant and unpleasant. Anyone whose been playing knows the "constructive" criticism that you can get from the veterans can be harsh to say the least, but when it's happening, you tend to keep your mouth closed out of respect. You know that it's coming from a place of infinite wisdom...

The thing I've been seeing lately is a "who the hell are you, you're not famous?" kinda vibe from cats coming up. Now, if these guys were really happening on their instruments, I'd be a little more understanding, but they're usually sensitive to any and all criticism. If you're the musical director, aren't you entitled to ask the drummer to "try and listen to the vocalist and be sympathetique?" without him taking it personally?

These guys resent that you are telling them anything, that they should be free to play whatever... The thing I usually find them doing is overplaying, or not utilising "common sense." They seem to feel they "deserve" to be famous and well paid just because they decided to play their particular instrument. No one wants to pay any dues.

The other funny thing is, once they are used to you calling them for work on occasion, they then file you as a "supplier of work", which means that they'll never call YOU for anything. Your relationship is one sided. You exist in there minds to give them work, not the other way around.