1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

why not just DI to PA and monitor?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lomo, Jul 20, 2007.

1. lomo

lomo passionate hack Supporting Member

Apr 15, 2006
    Montreal
    Newbie question. I've been playing for several years but just recently started to play "out" at small bar-sized venues. I love my Ampeg/Epifani setup, but if I understand correctly, the crowd is hearing mostly PA feed with my stack basically acting as my monitor. Is there any reason I shouldn't leave half the stack at home and just take a 112 or 210 as my monitor? Even better/lighter, why not just use a DI box to the PA and monitor the PA feed-or will I be better off with only me in my monitor? Lastly, are there many who mike their cabs rather than DI out?

2. rockstarbassist

rockstarbassist Banned

Apr 30, 2002
    The Woodlands, TX
    Endorsing Artist: HCAF
    I think we just did this one Monday or Tuesday. :)
    Look a few days back.

3. lomo

Apr 15, 2006
    Montreal
    will do
    thx

4. jtc_hunter

jtc_hunter

Feb 16, 2007
    It will really depend on how extensive your PA is. Alot of 12" floor monitors are designed for vocals and depending on how you eq your bass, it could be hard on those floor mons. Also it depends on how many "sends" the PA has. If there is only one send, then the bass will go to all the monitors. You would need at least 2 sends to get a separate mix just for your monitor. Then if thats the case, you would need power for that monitor send, or an active powered monitor. Alot of bass players will tell you that "DI only" is OK but when they use a bass amp along w/ a DI, they have more inspiration. My fav way to run monitors is to have 2 sends: A: is vocals only to everyone except the drummer. B: is vocals, bass, and lead guit. just to the drummer so he can hear it all back there.

5. Bryan316

Bryan316 Banned